Panel Discussion

Five of the foremost historians of the skyscraper, all members of the Symposium Steering Committee, took to the stage to debate the merits of the arguments presented in the day’s first three sessions. The objective was to isolate the most convincing argument for a set of criteria for identifying a “first skyscraper.”

Panel Chair: Antony Wood
President, Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat, Chicago
Benjamin Flowers
Professor, The Ohio State University, Columbus
Donald Friedman
President, Old Structures Engineering, New York City
Reed Kroloff
Dean & The Rowe Family College of Architecture Endowed Chair, Illinois Institute of Technology, Chicago
Pauline Saliga
Executive Director, Society of Architectural Historians, Chicago
Carol Willis
Founder & Director, The Skyscraper Museum, New York City